Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA)

JUN 20

Preliminary   > International Relations   >   Economic Groupings   >   India-Bangladesh


  • In a bid to woo Bangladesh, China has announced tariff exemption for 97% of Bangladeshi products under Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA), effective from July 1.


  • The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA), previously known as the Bangkok Agreement and renamed in November 2005, was signed in 1975.
  • It is the oldest preferential trade agreement between countries in the Asia-Pacific region.
  • Seven Participating States- Bangladesh, China, India, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Republic of Korea, and Sri Lanka are the parties to the APTA.
  • APTA is open to all members of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, which serves as the APTA Secretariat.


Q. Which of the following are members of APTA:

  1. India
  2. China
  3. USA
  4. Bangladesh

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 1, 2 and 4 only
  3. 2, 3 and 4 only
  4. 1, 2, 3 and 4

Answer to Prelims question