Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)


Preliminary   > International Relations   >   Regional groupings   >   International groupings

Why in news?

  • India’s trade with Gulf Cooperation Council increasing at rapid pace

About GCC:

  • The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf or GCC is a regional intergovernmental political and economic union consisting of all Arab states of the Persian Gulf except Iraq, namely: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates
  • It was originally known as the Gulf Cooperation Council.
  • The Charter of the GCC was signed on 25 May 1981, formally establishing the institution.
  • The GCC has extensive cooperation in political and economic fields.
  • The countries have together established a joint military arm known as Peninsula Shield Force.


Which of the following countries is not a member of Gulf Cooperation council (GCC)?

(a) Qatar

(b) Iraq

(c) Kuwait

(d) Bahrain