2023 SEP 13

Preliminary   > Economic Development   >   Indian Economy and Issues   >   Government Schemes

Why in news?

  • The third phase of mandatory hallmarking in India, starting from September 8, 2023, will include an additional 55 districts, bringing the total number of districts covered under this system to 343.

What is Hallmarking?

  • Hallmarking is like a quality stamp for jewellery and precious metal items. It tells you how pure or good the metal is.
  • The principal objectives of the Hallmarking Scheme are to protect the public against adulteration and to obligate manufacturers to maintain legal standards of fineness.

Hallmarking in India:

  • At present two precious metals namely gold and silver have been brought under the purview of Hallmarking.
  • Mandatory hallmarking order is applicable on 14, 18 and 22 carats of gold jewellery/artefacts only.
  • BIS assigns a unique HUID (Hallmarking Unique ID) number to all hallmarked items
  • Consumers can verify the authenticity of hallmarked items using the ‘verify HUID’ feature in the BIS Care app.
  • Earlier, it was optional for the jewellers and thus only 40% of gold jewellery was getting hallmarked.
  • In 2021, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution made it mandatory for the hallmarking of gold jewellery, which will be implemented in a phased manner.


  • Export and re-import of jewellery as per Trade Policy of Government of India, jewellery for international exhibitions, jewellery for government-approved B2B domestic exhibitions.
  • Watches, fountain pens and special types of jewellery such as Kundan, Polki and Jadau.


Which of the following metals are covered under BIS Hallmarking Scheme:

1. Gold

2. Silver

3. Platinum

4. Diamond

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

(a) 1 and 2 only

(b) 1 and 4 only

(c) 1, 3 and 4 only

(d) 1,2 and 3 only