Related Topics

2024 JUN   21
2023 SEP   19
2023 SEP   16
African Union
2023 SEP   12

Five Eyes Alliance

2023 SEP 25

Preliminary   > International Relations   >   Strategic Groupings   >   International groupings

Why in news?

  • The recent India-Canada standoff regarding allegations of Indian government involvement in the killing of a separatist leader in Canada has brought attention to the role of the Five Eyes Alliance.

About Five Eyes Alliance:

  • The Five Eyes Alliance refers to an intelligence-sharing partnership among five countries: the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.
  • These nations collaborate closely on intelligence matters, sharing information to protect their shared national interests.
  • Origins of the Alliance:
    • The alliance traces its origins back to World War II when the UK and the US decided to share intelligence after successfully breaking German and Japanese codes.
    • It began as the Britain-USA (BRUSA) agreement, later evolving into the UK-USA (UKUSA) agreement, with Canada joining in 1949 and New Zealand and Australia in 1956.


The countries partnering inFive Eyes Alliance’ are:

1. United States

2. India

3. Canada

4. China

5. Brazil

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

(a) 1 and 3 only

(b) 2,3 and 4 only

(c) 1 and 4 only

(d) 3,4 and 5 only